Will

Greetings

Hello!

Once again I have abandoned my Substack. Will, you say, you've done this before. And, sure, yes. Last time I bailed on Substack I migrated to Blogspot, but I didn't really like the platform much. This platform is much simpler, a lot less busted, and has RSS and Atom feeds. I also like that it has no trackers or JavaScript.

I've had some weird feelings about maintaining my own Substack for a while now. I just don't think I'm personally cut out for the platform: I don't have a single subject I can write about consistently (and, to be honest, I don't think I can really write consistently at all); I don't like that it's massively metrics-based as I really don't care about that sort of thing; I don't like the constant push to monetize when I've never had any intention of doing that; and, honestly, I was kind of running out of things to say. The fiction I posted just felt like filler so that people would remember the blog existed at all. Sad!

I'm not entirely sure what's going to go here yet but I'm excited to have what feels like a rather cozier corner of the internet than Substack or Twitter. I've also been remaking my website from the ground up to be less of a professional presence and more of a personal one. I've been having a great time with it. Stay tuned.